Trade Agreements

Mozambique has ratified the SADC Trade Protocol which aims to liberalise intra-regional trade by creating mutually beneficial trade arrangements, thereby improving investment and productivity in the region. It advocates that Member States eliminate barriers to trade, ease customs procedures, harmonise trade policies based on international standards, and prohibit unfair business practices. The Protocol also sets out institutional arrangements for implementation and contains annexes detailing policies on Rules of Origin, customs cooperation, harmonisation of trade documentation, transit facilities, and trade development.

The EU signed an Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA)  on 10 June 2016 with the SADC EPA Group comprising Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Eswatini (formerly Swaziland). Angola has an option to join the agreement in future. The agreement became the first regional EPA in Africa to be fully operational after Mozambique started applying the EPA in February 2018. The other six members of the Southern African Development Community region – the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Zambia and Zimbabwe – are negotiating Economic Partnership Agreements with the EU as part of other regional groups, namely Central Africa or Eastern and Southern Africa.

Mozambique also has bilateral trade agreements with Malawi (Resolution nº 7/2004 of 10th October 2006), and Zimbabwe (Resolution nº 7/2004 of 14th April). 

Under the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA)  and the Generalized System of Preferences (GSP), a wide range of Mozambican products receives duty-free entry to the United States.  A key provision of AGOA is the duty-free entry of apparel manufactured in Mozambique, including apparel manufactured with third-country fabric.  The preferential arrangements contain no reciprocal treatment for U.S. products entering Mozambique.

Mozambique also benefits from duty free access to many tariff lines in developed and middle-income countries. The World Trade Organization database has detailed information on preferential access of Mozambican goods, including for example to the markets of: Canada, the US, Chile, Iceland, Norway, the EU, Morocco, Switzerland, Montenegro, Turkey, Armenia, Russia, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, The Kyrgyz Republic, India, China, Thailand, Republic of Korea, Japan, Taipei, Australia, and New Zealand. To access the database, click here.